2018 Fishing News Awards

Fishing News is pleased to announce that the 2018 Fishing News Awards will be held in Aberdeen on the evening of Thursday 24th May 2018.

This event is dedicated to shining a spotlight on achievements, expertise and innovation from within the UK and Ireland’s commercial fishing industries during 2017.

The Hilton Treetops Hotel, Aberdeen will once again be our venue, and it promises to be another night to remember. This year’s proceedings will be hosted by Scottish comedian Fred MacAuley, who will MC the awards and provide after-dinner entertainment.

David Linkie, Editor, Fishing News: “Last year’s successful Fishing News Awards illustrated the industry’s tremendous support for its members, and celebrated the achievements of an enterprise whose strength is so much more than the sum of its parts. We are delighted to be able to recognise and reward the individuals and organisations whose achievements in their respective fields do so much for commercial fishing.

“I am pleased to announce two new categories for the 2018 Awards. The Sustainability Awards, sponsored by The Fishmongers Company, will recognise outstanding innovation and achievement in improving sustainability and environmental responsibility within the UK or Irish fishing industries. The introduction of a Trainee of the Year category, sponsored by Sunderland Marine, reflects the importance of encouraging new entrants into the industry. This award will acknowledge both trainees’ academic and personal achievements.

Ultimately The ‘Fishing News Awards’ is very much a team effort, in which everyone has an important role to play in supporting the industry by putting forward their nominations in the various award categories.”

The Nomination Process

We are now open to receive your nominations, through to midnight on Tuesday, 13th February 2018. We cannot accept further nominations beyond this point.

For the full list of award categories, click here.
To go straight to the nomination forms, click here
To see last year’s winners, click here


Shortlists of those nominees with the most nominations for each category will be made available on Friday, 23rd February 2018. From that date until midnight Friday, 27th April 2018, our secure online voting system will be available for you to vote on 9 of the categories. Winners of the remaining categories – Port of the Year, Young Fisherman of the Year, the Sustainability Award, and the Lifetime Achievement Award – will be determined by a panel of judges drawn from the fishing industry, using all supporting evidence provided through the nomination process.