The Fishing News Awards 2017 was a night of celebration for all those in the commercial fishing industry. Champagne was sipped, a three-course meal devoured and the guests enjoyed a good few laughs from comedian and impressionist Rory Bremner, the host for the evening.

After much anticipation, the winners in each category were revealed and the awards were presented along with a few special mentions…

Demersel Fisherman of the Year sponsored by Peterhead Port Authority

  • Winner: Brackan Pearce (Spirited Lady III)

Pelagic Fisherman of the Year sponsored by Wartsila

  • Winner: Lowrie Irvine (Antares LK419)

Shellfish Fisherman of the Year sponsored by Gael Force

  • Winner (static gear): Mark Pender (Tradewinds R 14)
  • Winner (mobile gear): Steven Girgan (Susan Bird FR 357)

Contribution to Safety Award sponsored by Sunderland Marine Insurance

Joint winners:

  • NAFC Marine Centre (Scalloway)
  • RNLI: Fishing Safety Team

Technical Innovation of the Year sponsored by Box Pool Solutions

  • Winner: QuikSling
  • Special Contribution Award: Crystal Sea SS 118

Independent Fresh Fish Retailer of the Year

  • Winner: Simon Lane, Brixham mobile fishmonger

Fish Processor of the Year

  • Winner: Lockers Fish (Whitby)

Coastal Fish Restaurant of the Year, sponsored by Coast Magazine

  • Winner: The Old Boat House (Amble, Northumberland)

Fishing Port of the Year

  • Winner: Brixham
  • Highly Commended: Scalloway

New Boat of the Year

  • Winner: Resilient LK 195

Young Fisherman of the Year

Joint winners:

  • Jordan Harrison, Crewman Riptide
  • Alexander West, Virtuous

Outstanding Contribution Award

  • Presented to: Tim Oliver

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Andrew Bremner
  • Dick James

Congratulations to the winners and all those on the shortlists, as well as a special thank you to our valued sponsors and supporters. To find out more about each of our winners, head to the 2017 Awards Winners page here.


Subscribe to Fishing News magazine today; never miss an issue and save 55%!